
Driver training instructional courses 
offered for the purpose of operating 
commercial motor vehicles as defined 
by Virginia Code § 46.2-341.4, including 
passenger and/or property carrying 
vehicles, will consist of both classroom and 
in-vehicle training. The CDL driver training 
school shall develop and submit to DMV 
for approval copies of the following:
The paper copy of the course, 

including a description of the course 
curriculum and a table of contents 
or index indicating where all 
required components specified are 
located

An instructor training manual
The instructor’s student training 

manual
The student workbook/manual
A student contract
School policies and procedures
Lesson plans
All teaching aids, including, if 

applicable, films, videos, slides and 
discussion cards.

The course materials must be free of 
racial, ethnic and gender stereotypes, and 
must clearly define the purpose, goals, and 
objectives of the program. The purpose 
should be concisely stated with specific 
components. 

DMV may request copies of the 
curriculum, including training materials, at 
any time.  Once a curriculum is approved, 
subsequent changes to that curriculum 
must be submitted to DMV for approval.

It is the responsibility of the school to 
make accommodations that conform to 
the requirements of the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA).

The DMV approved training course will 
consist of a minimum of 120 hours of 
instruction (a minimum of 40 hours of 
classroom instruction, and a minimum 
of 80 hours of in-vehicle instruction 
consisting of hands-on, observation, range 
and road instruction and simulation). Both 
classroom and in-vehicle training sessions 
will be limited to a maximum of ten hours 
per day.

Commercial Driver 
Training School 

Curriculum 
Requirements

Classroom Instruction 
Requirements

The classroom instruction shall include, 
but need not be limited to, the 
following: 
State motor vehicle laws, including 

those specifically relating to: 
Registration, proof of 

insurance and licensing laws
Special taxes

Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Administration rules and 
regulations relating to:
Medical reviews
Operation of commercial 

motor vehicles, such as 
trucks

Commercial tractor, trailers, 
and semi-trailers, and motor 
vehicles

Transporting flammable or 
hazardous cargo

Passenger carrying vehicles
Virginia laws relating to equipment, 

brake systems, lighting, and display 
of emergency equipment

Additional subjects including:
Responding to different types 

of drivers (e.g., teen drivers, 
mature drivers, etc.)

Accident reporting and safety 
responsibility laws

Safe driving strategies/
principles

Instruction concerning traffic stops	
  including:
Law-enforcement 

procedures for   
 traffic stops
Appropriate actions to be 

taken 
 by drivers during traffic stops
Appropriate interactions with  

 law-enforcement officers 
who 
 initiate traffic stops

Awareness of unsafe, unacceptable 
driving practices to avoid, 
including:
Aggressive driving
Distracted driving
Alcohol/drug awareness
Motorcycle safety awareness
Truck safety
Bicycle safety
Pedestrian safety

Railroad crossings requirements
Driving conditions

Emergencies on the road
City and suburban driving, rural and 

expressway driving
Handicapped parking
Routine service and pre-trip safety 

check
Fuel efficient driving
Log book lessons and map reading
Use of occupant safety devices and 

their benefits and effectiveness in 
motor vehicle collisions, including:
Flares, triangles or reflectors
Fire extinguishers
Safety belts
Hazmat emergency 

handbooks
Human trafficking course material 

must include the following:
What is human trafficking         
How to recognize the signs of 

human trafficking
Empowering your company 

and training drivers
What you should do if you 

suspect human trafficking
When to contact law 

enforcement
How to prevent human 

trafficking
National hotline telephone 

number: 1-888-373-7888
Refer to the Virginia 

Commercial Driver’s Manual 
(DMV60A) for additional 
information on human 
trafficking provided by 
Truckers Against Trafficking, a 
non-profit organization. 

Not more than 30 percent of the total 
classroom hours may be devoted to the 
showing of slides or films.

In-vehicle Instruction 
Requirements 

The in-vehicle instruction shall include, 
but need not to be limited to, the 
following:
Starting
Stopping
Turning
Braking
Parking
Docking
Hooking-up and unhooking trailers 

and semi-trailers
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Display of emergency equipment
Use of hazard lighting system
Pre-trip inspections shall include 

routine checking and servicing of all 
component parts of such vehicles

For in-vehicle instruction, the number 
of occupants, including the driver and 
instructor, will be limited to no more than 
five persons in the cab during periods of 
instruction as prescribed by regulation. 

Passenger-carrying Instruction 
Requirements

Passenger carrying vehicle courses must 
include the same instruction requirements 
as set forth above, and shall include, but 
not be limited to the following:
Occupant protection and 

accommodation, including:
Passenger loading and 

unloading practices
Emergency situation 

procedures, including 
emergency passenger 
evacuation and exit 
procedures

Seating limitations
Requirements regarding 

provisions to accommodate 
passengers under the 
Americans with Disabilities 
Act (ADA)

Baggage loading and unloading,  
and weight distribution


