Military Surplus Motor Vehicles

A guide to registering and driving your vehicle

What qualifies as a military surplus motor vehicle (MSMV)?

A MSMV is a multi-purpose or tactical vehicle manufactured by, or under the direction of the United States Armed Forces, for off-road use and subsequently authorized for sale to civilians. This does not include trailers or semi-trailers.

What are the license plate options for MSMVs?

- If you already have a registered MSMV, you may continue to register for a standard or special license plate for as long as you own the vehicle.
- ▶ If you register an MSMV between July 1, 2018 and December 31, 2018, you can obtain one of two license plates:
 - o Military surplus license plate owner must complete form VSA10M certifying their use of a second vehicle for daily travel and pay a one-time \$100 fee. MSMV driving restrictions apply.
 - o Standard or special license plate owner must show proof of a current Virginia safety inspection.
- ▶ If you register a MSMV after December 31, 2018, you are only eligible for military surplus license plates. An owner must complete form VSA10M and pay a one-time \$100 fee. MSMV driving restrictions apply.

MSMV driving restrictions

Virginia Code § 46.2-730.1 limits MSMV with military surplus license plates to the participation in off-road events, on-road club activities, exhibits, tours, parades, and similar events. MSMV may also be used on the highways of the Commonwealth for the purpose of selling the vehicle and obtaining repairs or maintenance. Military surplus license plates permit occasional pleasure driving (not to exceed 125 miles from the address at which the vehicle is stored for use) but cannot be used for general transportation purposes, including, but not limited to, daily travel to and from the owner's place of employment. Occasional pleasure driving amounts to a 250 mile round trip.

Violations of military surplus motor vehicle rules

Any owner of a MSMV registered with license plates pursuant to Virginia Code § 46.2-730.1 will be guilty of a Class 4 misdemeanor if convicted of a violation of military plate usage. The conviction will cause the owner's registration for the vehicle involved in the violation to be revoked for a five year period from the date of conviction.



DMV 298 (07/01/2018)
© The Commonwealth of Virginia
Department of Motor Vehicles
(DMV) 2018. All rights reserved.

dmv/Vow.com