

Claiming the Farm Use Exemption and the new 2024 requirements

What is being enforced on July 1, 2024?

In 2023, the Virginia General Assembly passed legislation to clarify, improve, and address past misuse of the unlicensed farm use vehicle program. Beginning July 1, 2024, the following vehicles claiming the Virginia Farm Use Exemption must obtain a permanent placard from your local DMV or DMV Select:

- (i) Pickup trucks with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) less than or equal to 7,500 pounds.
- (ii) Panel trucks with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) less than or equal to 7,500 pounds.

AND

(iii) SUVs with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) less than or equal to 7,500 pounds.

NOTE: Cars do not qualify for the Virginia Farm Use Exemption

Which vehicles need to display the traditional red and white "Farm Use" tag if used for exempt purposes?

- (i) Vehicles (including pickup and panel trucks) with a GVWR greater than 7,500 pounds.
- (ii) Trailers
- (iii) Semitrailers

NOTE: Cars do not qualify for the Virginia Farm Use Exemption

Where do I find my Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR)?

Issued by the vehicle's manufacturer, the GVWR can be typically found on the Safety Compliance Certification Label inside the driver's side door or "driver's door jamb." This is the maximum weight your vehicle is engineered to safely carry.



Using your Permanent Farm Use Placard

Permanent Farm Use Placards issued by your DMV are *not transferable* between vehicles and are assigned to a specific vehicle upon application. Each qualifying vehicle will need their own separate placards and will be subject to a separate \$15 application fee. Placards must be displayed in front and back of vehicles at all times.

Penalties for misuse

A first violation is punishable by a fine of not more than \$250, a second or subsequent violation shall constitute a traffic infraction punishable by a fine of \$250. § 46.2-613

APPLICABLE VIRGINIA CODE SECTIONS

- § 46.2-613. Infractions relating to registration, licensing & certificates of title; penalties.
- § 46.2-664. Vehicles used for spraying fruit trees & other plants.
- § 46.2-665. Vehicles used for agricultural or horticultural purposes.
- \$ 46.2-666. Vehicles used for seasonal transportation of farm produce & livestock.
- § 46.2-667. Farm machinery & tractors.
- § 46.2-669. Tractors & similar vehicles owned by sawmill operators.
- \$ 46.2-670. Vehicles owned by farmers & used to transport certain wood products.
- § 46.2-672. Certain vehicles transporting fertilizer, cotton, or peanuts.
- § 46.2-673. Return trips of exempted farm vehicles.
- § 46.2-684.1. Insurance coverage and proof of insurance for exempted motor vehicles.
- § 46.2-684.2. Permanent farm use placards.

Enforcement begins JULY 1, 2024









A FARMER'S GUIDE: Virginia Farm Use Plates



Choose the Farm Use Plate or Placard that's right for you



Farmers in Virginia use vehicles in a variety of ways for their farms. The type of license plates or placards you choose to display on your vehicle determines how the vehicle may be used.

Beginning July 1, 2024, a DMV-issued permanent farm use placard is required for unlicensed (unregistered) farm use panel trucks, pickup trucks, or sport utility vehicles with a GVWR under 7.500 pounds.

Requirements	Standard License Plate - VIRGINIA - SAMPLE VIRGINA S FOR LOWIS	F-Tag Plate VIRGINIA 80-000	Permanent DMV-Issued Placard Plate	FARM USE TAGE
Titled with DMV	✓	√	\checkmark	Varies. See below.
Registered with DMV	\checkmark	\checkmark	×	×
Displays DMV-issued Plate/Placard on Vehicle	✓	✓	✓	×
Needs State Inspection	\checkmark	\checkmark	×	×
Must Carry Appropriate Insurance	√	\checkmark	✓	✓
Use	Unrestricted	Farm use and limited non-farm use	Restricted to farm use	Restricted to farm use
Form to Complete to Apply	VSA 14	VSA 131	VSA 132	×
Fee to Apply	Varies	½ the registration fee but at least \$15	One-time \$15	N/A

^{*}Not issued by DMV

Titling

Every motor vehicle operated on a highway in Virginia must be titled, except for farm tractors, farm machinery, farm utility vehicles, and farm vehicles with a securely attached machine for spraying fruit trees and plants.

If you don't have a title for your farm use vehicle, you may submit an Affidavit in Lieu of Title Certificate (VSA 12) to request verification of ownership in addition to an Application for Certificate of Title (VSA 17A). Sales and use tax will be collected when you title your vehicle unless the vehicle is an unregistered farm use pickup truck, panel truck, or sport utility vehicle required to obtain a permanent farm use placard.

DMV 315 (Feb 02, 2024) © The Commonwealth of Virginia, Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) 2024. All rights reserved.

THE BASICS: Permanent Farm Use Placards

No vehicle inspection required

§ 46.2-1157 only vehicles requiring inspection are registered vehicles.

Must have liability insurance

§ 46.2-684.1. any motor vehicle, trailer, or semi-trailer that is exempt from motor vehicle registration requirements (like farm use vehicles), must be insured under a general liability policy that includes personal injury liability insurance and property damage liability insurance under a motor vehicle insurance policy or an umbrella or excess insurance policy.

Maximum distance allowance of up to 75 miles or to a storage house, packing plant, market, or between your tracts of land. While operating a farm use vehicle, a farmer may stop for a meal or dispose of incidental trash from their or an employee's home and trash generated on the farm.

Required to have a title

However, if a title is needed, there will be a separate \$15 titling fee and no sales or use tax will be imposed if purchasing a permanent placard.

DMV and DMV Select

The application is available at DMV, or online at the DMV's website. Print and mail-in options are available.

Items needed for application

The permanent placards are valid for the lifetime of the vehicle, but are *not transferable*.

\$15 application fee per vehicle

Name of owner or lessee of vehicle

Approximate farm location and acreage where the vehicle is used; type of agricultural commodities produced on the farm

Title for each vehicle requiring placard, or, if title is needed, an additional \$15 titling fee per vehicle

Statements signed by owner or lessee that the vehicle will only be used for the purposes allowed under the Farm Use Exemption AND that the vehicle is insured. TIP: It might be helpful to bring your insurance policy with you.