DMV News Releases
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASETuesday, January 15, 2013
DMV Outfits Mobile Units with Fingerprint Technology
Livescan Streamlines the Secure Process of Obtaining CDL HAZMAT Endorsements
RICHMOND - The technology used by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to scan and process fingerprints, called Livescan, is now available in DMV 2 Go mobile offices. In the past, a driver seeking a hazardous materials (HAZMAT) endorsement for a commercial driver license (CDL) needed to travel to one of the 21 DMV customer service centers (CSC) equipped with Livescan. Now, with the technology on the move, the secure process is easier for commercial drivers to access.
Livescan is a Virginia State Police application that allows for the electronic capture and transmission of fingerprint and demographic data for purposes of individual criminal background checks as required by the federal government. It is a valuable tool that allows DMV to ensure the safety and security of HAZMAT transportation in the Commonwealth.
"Our fleet of five wireless mobile customer service centers reaches customers at a time and place convenient to them," said DMV Commissioner Richard D. Holcomb. "When we saw a need for drivers to more easily access the HAZMAT endorsement process, while at the same time recognizing the need for that process to remain completely secure, we decided to install Livescan in our mobile units to serve both of those needs."
DMV 2 Go provides full DMV service in rural and urban areas in all corners of the Commonwealth. All five are outfitted with the Livescan technology.
The process of obtaining a HAZMAT CDL endorsement works the same at DMV 2 Go as in the brick-and-mortar CSC. Customers pay a one-time, non-refundable fee of $83 at the time of fingerprinting, which is used to conduct the background check. Results take up to 45 days to return. Once the check is completed, DMV will send a letter to successful applicants directing them to visit any CSC or mobile office to be issued new credentials with the HAZMAT endorsement. A $20 re-issue fee is charged at the time of pick-up.